Opportunity Cost

I thought it appropriate to draft a little something-something following the Sunday game that almost was.  For those of you too just joining our programming this evening and too lazy to read below, I’ll recap, because I love bulleted lists:

  • Tickets were offered.  Beautiful tickets.  7 rows off the field at the 40 yard line tickets.
  • I pounced.
  • Ticket holder who had purchased to make a quick buck, was taken aback, and quoted face value.
  • I balked, offered $40 over face just for his trouble.
  • Ticket holder huddled with wife (<– that’s a football reference in case you’re a moron).
  • Wife declared victory over $40
  • I once again offer to wait, allowing owner to feel out the second hand market for a few days.  Ticket holder refuses.
  • I paypal money.  Transaction complete.  Handshake made.

Fast forward 6 hours…

  • Ticket owner refunds money
  • Note on refund says “I can’t sell you tickets, good luck with your search”
  • I go thermonuclear.
  • I drink a beer.
  • I calm down.
  • I realize this jackass sold out his integrity for an extra $350.
  • I deem him my mortal enemy (think Sheldon and WIL WHEATON)
  • I opt to not waste my words even acknowledging his complete lack of class, morality, good judgement, ethics, etc. etc.
  • I watch the game on TV, musing that I could’ve taken that dirtbag to small claims court and handily won, and of course realize I’d gain more by working my day job.

In case you aren’t a football fan, here’s how I would sum up the game and Tim Tebow’s performance:

“Un-fucking-believable”

Yes, folks, perhaps the best Bronco game I’ve ever seen.  It wasn’t the same caliber of game as, say, the Saint’s performance in dismantling the Lions.. that was just a spectacle of athleticism that you don’t see every day.  But this game will definitely go down in the annals of time as one of the great underdog upsets.

Yet, I can’t help but wonder, what would it have been like to be there?

Relax, I’m not sad.  I learned a wonderful lesson and spotted a douchebag that I previously may have wasted more time associating with.  For this, I am thankful.  Also, I have an enormous tv.  It’s not unpleasant.

Finally, I would like to bring a little chaos theory to our discussion.  I am not a mathematician.  Nor will I ever be.  However, I can’t help but think that my presence at this game SOMEHOW, in tandem with a butterfly getting eaten by a bird in China, would have led to the Broncos not winning.  No, I do not think I’m at the center of the universe, nor am I tied to Tebow, his love of Jebus, or the outcome of any sporting event, that’s just how my fortunes tend to roll, ya know?

In other news, my pup turned 4 yesterday.  I think I will bake her a cake.  🙂

~JJ/V~

 

Leave a comment